State Rep. Mary Littleton easily defeated James Gupton in the Republican primary for her House district seat on Thursday.

State Rep. Mary Littleton, whose district covers all of Cheatham County and part of Dickson County, defeated Cheatham County School Board member James Gupton Jr. in the Republican primary for her seat on Thursday night.

Unofficial results from the elections offices in both counties Thursday showed Dickson resident Littleton with a large margin of victory in the primary for the Tennessee House of Representatives District 78 post.

In Cheatham, Littleton got 3,338 votes compared to 1,127 for Gupton, who lives in Ashland City. In Dickson County, Littleton received 2,082 votes to Gupton’s 970, giving Littleton the victory 5,420 votes (72 percent) to 2,097 for Gupton.

The incumbent will face Democrat Holly Spann of Ashland City in November’s general election. Spann was unopposed in the primary, getting 1,739 votes in Cheatham and 1,046 in Dickson County.

This year marked the first time Littleton faced a primary challenger since she was part of a seven-way race in August 2012, according to Tennessee Secretary of State records.

In 2012, then-incumbent Republican Phillip Johnson of Pegram did not run, opening the door for the crowded primary field.

The district’s boundaries were redrawn between the 2010 and 2012 elections. During Johnson’s tenure District 78 still contained all of Cheatham as it does now, but it also had portions of Williamson and Montgomery counties and no parts of Dickson County, the Secretary of State records show.

In the 2012 primary with the new district lines, Littleton used an enormous advantage in the Dickson County vote to offset a last-place Cheatham County finish and win the primary, the records show.

She was re-elected in 2014, 2016 and 2018.

In the contentious U.S. Senate Republican primary field of 15 candidates, former ambassador to Japan Bill Hagerty edged Dr. Manny Sethi, a Vanderbilt University Medical Center physician, by just over 50 percent to Sethi’s 40 percent. The two had fought in recent weeks about who was more conservative, but Hagerty, who had President Donald Trump’s endorsement, won.

Marquita Bradshaw won the Democratic primary for the seat and will face Hagerty in November’s election. The seat became vacant when Sen. Lamar Alexander announced his retirement last year.

School board races

In races for the Cheatham County school board, John Patrick, who was appointed to the board earlier this year, defeated challenger Derick Williams, 522 to 343, in District 2. Tim Ray beat incumbent Jennifer Hamblin, 608 to 521, in District 3. David Risner won in District 6, running unopposed.

School board chairman John Louallen won the race for Pegram mayor, beating County Commissioner Eugene Evans by a count of 399 to 183. Louallen is allowed to serve in both positions.

Rankine Roth and Bob Sanders were uncontested winners for seats on the Pegram Board of Aldermen.

Cynthia Dozier Burney and Robert Hester won uncontested races for assessor and road superintendent, respectively.

Recommended for you