Early voting in Cheatham increases

The Cheatham County Election Commission has issued sample ballots for all precincts, as early voting is set to begin Wednesday, Oct. 14 for the Nov. 3 election.

All county voters will see three contested races on the ballot, and some will see more, depending on where they live. Pleasant View and Kingston Springs voters will decide local contests, with Pleasant View voters also due to vote on a proposed tax hike.

All Cheatham voters will weigh in on these races:

• The presidential race with incumbent Republican Donald Trump against Democrat Joe Biden, plus a slew of independent candidates.

• The Senate race pitting Republican Bill Hagerty against Democrat Marquita Bradshaw, also with many independents vying for the open seat.

• The 78th District Tennessee House of Representatives seat featuring incumbent Republican Mary Littleton of Dickson versus Ashland City Democrat Holly Spann.

Most Cheatham County voters will see Jim Cooper’s name on the ballot. The Democrat is unopposed in his bid for another term in the House of Representatives for Tennessee’s 5th Congressional District, which includes Nashville and most of Cheatham.

A different group of voters, those living in Cheatham’s sliver of the sprawling, rural 6th Congressional District, will pick among incumbent Republican John Rose, Democrat Christopher Martin Finley and independent Christopher D. Monday.

Pleasant View residents are picking a new mayor and aldermen.

The race for the open mayor’s seat features Bill Anderson and Heather Brown Hardwick, both of whom are currently aldermen.

The town’s voters will select two of the following four candidates for aldermen: Ronnie Curtis, Jill Niccolich, Kyle L. Pritchett and Larry Carpetman Vernon. Pritchett is the only incumbent among them.

Also on Pleasant View ballots is the referendum on whether to raise the local option sales tax rate from 2.25 percent to 2.75 percent. The local option amount gets added to the 7 percent state sales tax.

In Kingston Springs, voters will pick three of four candidates to fill commissioner slots. Carolyn D. Clark, Tony Gross, Glenn Remick and Todd Verhoven are on the ballot.

Gross is the current mayor and Remick is an incumbent on the board.

Under the town’s system, all the candidates run as commissioners. The mayor is then chosen by the commissioners at the start of a new term.


When: Oct. 14-29

Where: David McCullough Community Room in Ashland City, Pleasant View City Hall and Pegram City Hall.

Hours: Monday, Wednesday and Friday, 9 a.m.-4 p.m.; Tuesday and Thursday, 9 a.m.-7 p.m.; Saturday, 9 a.m.-2 p.m.

Recommended for you